As part of the whole Mardi Gras season down under, they hold Fair Day. The only way I can describe it is, is that it is very similar to a UK pride. IE, Stalls selling everything from holidays in Fiji "for you and your lover" to toffee apples in the shape of a penis. You can also find dance tents, veggie food, beer, queues, sunshine, drugs, a couple of stages with various live acts and of course the obligatory lesbian catfight. That’s two lesbian women fighting, not lesbian cats fighting.
This is not to say that UK prides are not good, in fact I love them. I'm just using the comparison here for Fair Day.
And it was good.....
Met up with a few mates and headed towards the beer tent. It was a very orderly affair with a nice queue. It was set up like those queue thingy’s you get at Disney World or a really busy dole office where you snake up and down for 10 minutes before getting to where you think is the front of the queue, only to find upon turning a corner you're still 15 minutes away from the front.
Ok, I exaggerate. A bit. Well, maybe more than a bit, but you get the general idea. We snaked up and down. A lot!
"What would you like?"
"Err, what beer do you have?"
"Err beer? Blonde."
"Anything else?"
"No."
"OK, I'll have a blonde then."
"That’s $5.00"
and off I'd go.
The beer was actually a bottle poured into a placcy cup, the sort you get when its sunny and pubs/bars allow you to drink outside, but don’t want any trouble. Know the ones? Well, needless to say, you don’t get much for your $5.00 so it was quickly drunk (it was very hot!) so once again I'd head off to the queue for a quick snake.
"What would you like?"
"Err beer please......."
You get the idea.
Only now I had cottoned onto the idea of getting two beers instead of one. It lasts longer and saves me having to "snake."
Wrong. In fact you drink twice as fast cos its so hot and you don’t want your precious beer to get warm.
OK, now I know I'm a pom, but even I have limits when it comes to warm beer. So, basically, after only a few hours, I was pretty drunk. I was thinking of knocking it all on the head when Tina & Ebeneezer turned up and made me stay out till all hours.
Mick, Michael, Tina, Ebeneezer and I carried on at Fairday till it closed, which was fairly early. Probably around 7:30, so we headed off to Oxford St and meandered between, the Shift and The Manacle, drinking ourselves into oblivion. Lost Mick somewhere along the way and Michael had to get a bus home at 3:30 in the bloody morning.
I however continued my night alono and went to The Pleausure Chest. A "Not Nice" establishment.
I didn’t stay long and got home at around 4:30am. Watched Parkinson (the one with gay boy Georgios Kyriacos Panayiotou) and went to bed. ZZZzzzzz
There were supposed to be pictures to accompany this post, but Brighton "Not so bright" Mick, deleted all the pics on the camera.....
|